A Warm House

Well, I haven’t been a very good blogger lately!  I just looked and it has been 22 days since my last post, whoops!  There has been lots happening at the house, I’ve just been too busy to post anything!

The boys have been hard at work installing the trim and it looks great!  I’m so glad we went with a simple and classic trim that works really well with our large windows.  The downstairs windows have beautiful birch sills that are stained the same colour as the kitchen cabinets and the upstairs windows are painted in the trim colour.

2015-01-16 16.51.39

Trim with stained sills on the first floor.

2015-01-16 16.52.52

Window and baseboard trim installed on the second floor. All of the stained pieces are the woodwork for the stairs.

We also have a beautiful tiled shower now in our master bathroom.  I cannot wait to use it!

2015-01-09 11.59.47

It’s a pretty big shower, this is probably half of it.

The electrician has also been in and we now have electricity in the house!  Most of the light fixtures are up and the plugs are working.  Just a few more things to go for electrical.  I was surprised at how much more “homey” the house felt when I could walk in and turn on a light!

Probably the most exciting part lately for us has been temperature.  Specifically, what I mean by this is the temperature differential between inside and outside the house with no heat on.  Last weekend we went over to the house; the temperature outside was -12 and the temperature inside was 15!!  That’s a 27 degree difference!  With NO heat!  Love it 🙂  Anyone who has come over to the house has been surprised with how warm it is in the house especially without having a constant heat source.  Our super insulated, air tight house is keeping the heat in.  I’m excited to see the difference that our living in the house will actually make; six people, a dog, a cat, and numerous appliances running, all which emit heat.

2015-01-10 16.17.31

Temperature out

2015-01-10 16.08.22

Temperature in!

So, what’s next?  A busy week coming up.  On Monday we will have the stair installation begin and the floors will start to be installed.  All along as well the painters have been in working on the trim work and prepping the wood for the stairs.

The countdown is on!

electrical

Probably the most exciting thing to me has been

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Warm House

  1. Ken H says:

    I love the picture of the trim with stained sills on the first floor! The color contrast and the detail on how the bottom trim piece has a slight angle cut to it is really beautiful. I’m bookmarking this page for when I build my house!

  2. Amy says:

    Hi,
    We are building a passive house in Ontario and I’ve been thinking about window placement lately. Our builder initially put the windows halfway in the thickness of the wall. I wanted the windows toward the outside of the wall, so we could have a thick ledge to form a bench, quite like what you have. I’m curious about the placement of your windows relative to the exterior wall. Are they close to the outside of the wall? Did this affect the PHPP values much?
    Thanks!

    • rbpeters04 says:

      Hi Amy! I love hearing about another Passive House being built!! Our windows are actually right in the middle of the walls. So, we have a large ledge on the inside and a large ledge in the outside. Our interior ledges stick out a bit from the wall too so that helps to make the ledges a bit bigger. They are 11 3/4″ from the window to the outside of the ledge. I guess it depends on the overall thickness of the walls… and ours are pretty thick! I’d love to hear more about your home! Good luck with the building process!

Leave a Reply

